Posts by KingLemming

For the record, I hate this quote system.

I know that you aren't abusing the OD in a horrible manner per se - you're actually quite good about what you're doing, all things considered. I also know you aren't removing vanilla blocks/items, although the log -> plank rebalance does drastically alter the progression of some mods, depending how rare their trees are, and if a specific wood is required for their recipe. But there are lots of ways that it can go south in general. Being the gatekeeper mod for that stuff makes some people uneasy. I still salute you for what you manage to pull off.

Also, I'm an engineer, not a lawyer. ;) But it's amazing how often you have to deal with politicians as an engineer. Anyways, thanks for taking the code out.

Here's the thing - GregTech is the sun in this case. It is the *major* source of OreDictionary and vanilla recipe altering. Your analogy would hold true if there were another mod shadowing what Greg does by orders of magnitude, but there aren't any.

So considering that, it is a completely fair warning. And again, I'm not "blaming" Greg here or even taking a side - he knows that he restructures and changes a lot of things - that's the entire point of his mod! And that's fine, there is nothing wrong with acknowledging that it does that. To his credit, Greg does an amazing job with all of the x-mod interaction that he does. But it's insane to say that he doesn't do more of it than anyone else, which is what you just implied.

much better, the wording is still meh but whatever. If you really want unbiasness, I can write a short paragraph for you :3

The current wording on it is actually both diplomatic and accurate. GT does do all of the listed things. The reasons for GT doing it are irrelevant, and it is factual that messing around in the OreDictionary can mess up other mods which expect certain things to hold true.