Posts by tfs1

HV Transformer accepts up to 8k EU, the fursion reactor outputts 32k EU/t in 1000000 packet bursts, requiring 4 supercondensators to harnes the power.

So does that mean the reactor only sends out a packet every....1.5 seconds? Or is there an extra zero in there? So probably every 4 ticks, right? Either way, that means the condensators get presented with a size 100,000 packet 5 times a second. They each take 8 k, and now I'm confused again. Unless the superconducting wire stores some power, and "spreads" it out a bit, like golden conductive pipes with mj. So the condensators can output every tick, even though there is no packet coming from the reactor on that tick.

I feel like I'm studying for an exam here. :)

Ah, that explains a lot. Thanks. Incidentally, to the other poster, you can't attach things to more than one side of the superconductor for output, because it only outputs through the one dot side. It's sort of the reverse of the other transformers.

If the HV transformer is accepting an 8192-eu packet, putting out 4 512s, and discarding the rest, than that explains it. But what happens to the rest of the eu? Does it only send a 2048-eu packet to the hv transformer, or does it send the whole thing and 6144 eu is lost?

Hmmm....so the supercondensator doesn't act like the other transformers? Good to know. But why does a high-voltage transformer work? It should only be able to handle 2048, not 8192. Anywhere an HV transformer works, shouldn't an AESU also be safe? They both accept 2048 packets....right?