Help with my first reactor @notwanttobloweverythingup

• Hi guys,

I'm new to IC2 and before I ask my question, I'd like to congratulate the author(s) of the mod for the achievement. It's making minecraft so much more fun.

Anyways, I've got my little base setup with a couple of macerators, a couple of induction furnesses, an extractor and a compressor all powered by a MFE recharged through solar panels. I wanna move my base from up that mountain to a flatter terrain and build my first plant/diamond factory/nuclear reactor. I still need a lot of resources before I can craft a reactor and the related required machines, but it shouldn't take me so long to get them.
    I'm planning on doing this safely with the highest efficiency Mark I reactor posted in this forum, surround it with 2 layers of reinforced stone/glass and build my automated factory lines around it using buildcraft pipes and engines. Probably the most basic setup for the more experienced of you.

So my worry is related to the MFSU that will be connected to the reactor, and more precisely how it interacts with the reactor. I really don't want the reactor to blow up since it's very expensive and I don't want to have to gather all the resources again. So here are my questions:

1. If I power on the reactor being attached to nothing, free standing, does it build up energy in a internal buffer? Does it eventually heat up because there's nowhere to release the energy? And does it eventually blow up?

2. Same question about the MFSU. I know it won't blow up from being full, but will the reactor if the MFSU is full and the reactor has nowhere to send the energy? Or does the reactor simply stops, the same way a generator would?

3. Any other piece of advice?

Thanks

• Official Post

"1. If I power on the reactor being attached to nothing, free standing, does it build up energy in a internal buffer? Does it eventually heat up because there's nowhere to release the energy? And does it eventually blow up?