A mod that justifies insane production?

• I'm new to mods. So far just IC exp, blood magic and Buildcraft. I liked pushing production and mining to a huge scale in vanilla, and it can be done so much better with IndustrialCraft and Buildcraft. But sometimes it feels like a dead end. Like I'd just be hoarding materials.

It would be very cool if there was a mod where there was an NPC war effort that needed me to arm them. Or maybe not that, but some ......sink hole lol that justifies/demands and REWARDS insane production. Any ideas for mods or servers like that?

• Correct me if I'm wrong, but from what I've seen Greg tech is like IndustrialCraft, but with a more difficult and time consuming tech tree? I've just now gotten to where I feel like I've mastered the IC tech tree (though I'm still a little confused about fluid nuclear reactors) I'm mostly hoping to use the cool production abilities for an end, rather than adopting a new production system.

• The Clay Soliders mod sounds super cool, and would be pretty much exactly what I'm looking for, if instead of players' clay armies vs players' clay armies the soliders were being used to overcome some great combat obstacle. And clay is pretty expensive in a replicator, you'd really have to work it :)

• You have 4 decent approaches (from what I can see):

• Gregtech- Based off the IC2 concept you've mastered, but with an enourmous tech tree. I think this is your best IC2 related solution. Gregtech rewards the insane production of materials because the cost as you progress goes exponentially upward. You said you didn't want a new production system, but honestly I think you'd find it worth it.