Posts by Xyresik

The only thing I could see ice useful for would be the minimize cooldown times on high heat high eu/t reactors or to turn a lowish heat mark 3 into a (barely) mark 2.

That being said, ice is irritating to make without using TMI or having some crazy BC+EE factory set up(which would change the game on reactors anyway) Using a stack to extend my meltdown a few extra minutes isn't worth it currently.

It might be usefull to generate more eu over a longer period of time if we used ice to shorten cooldown times on mark 2's, or even get us higher efficiency by turning mark 3's into safer mark 2-suc reactors.

Ice might have practical uses, I hate making it, so im not an expert on ice cooled reactors at all.

the problem is how fast your gonna go through ice with that much heat.

With all that uranium your generating tons of heat, once the reactor hits 200 heat in the hull its gonna start popping ice blocks.

The ice block that gets popped wont reset the hull heat back down to 0, it doesn't work that way. Its going to absorb enough heat to keep the hull around 200-300 untill the last block melts, then your back to generating massive heat. 4 stacks of ice in your design will give you a reactor that will last about 5 minutes longer than it would previously, but still nowhere near a full cycle

edit: someone else explained this way better than me, let me see if I can find the post.
    edit2: