Posts by cpw

I seem to be in the minority here, but I just want the advanced machines, as they stand, to stay compatible with new releases of IC2. They're more than powerful enough, especially when fed by BC pipes or RP2 tubes.

Here's the problem, and why I think this is worthwhile. Firstly, let's assume that zip never returns.
    So, I don't have Zip's code. I have something I decompiled from his code. I have got it working, obviously, as did arsenic. However, I don't really understand why zip done things the way he did. I can see different, easier (to me) ways to write code that does a similar thing. As IC2, and BC and other stuff (like MCF) moves forward, it's going to get harder to make sure that this mod continues to work. Trust me, I work in the Java industry and I've seen the kinds of disaster that can befall people who try and keep doing that. If I want to be in this for the long haul, I want something that's going to be easy for me (or someone I hand it to) to maintain. The code decompiled from Zip is neither. Technically, I can't even share it in decompiled form. Now, I can rewrite what zip done, and "present" it as my mod. But that's not fair to zip either- it's still his ideas, I've just gone and stolen them from him. So, I want to do something that goes beyond what he's done. Hence the above. I think if it's a reimagining of the whole suite of work, and just overlaps a bit with Zip's ideas, certainly inspired by Zip's ideas but still, unique enough to be different, then that makes me happy to make the effort.

Anyway, as soon as next IC2 hits, I'll be getting to work on the new beginning. I will probably have a look at making sure Zip's mod still works too. Though once BC3 really lands, all bets have to be off for Zip's stuff. He does some slight weirdness with BC as it is- it's not going to be easy to make it BC3 compatible.

(No quotes, as this is in reply to lots of people)