Posts by Shadowclaimer

I'm quite saddened by Elo doing this truthfully. Squashing addon development is no way to treat your fans, whether it contained your source or not. It was done to foster development and cross-play between mods, not to cause any harm.

True words.

Thank you <3

After learning Java and studying Notch code, even as an amateur I can say that in theory, design, and practice this system is a nightmare. It was a cop out to his originally planned leveling system, implemented near last minute as a launch "feature", with no regard for modders or anyone. Its just a mess.

That's why i consider enchantments imbalanced.

Yep, I'm hitting the same fun with my mod, the infinite arrow enchant luckily only counts Notch arrows, so for me to implement my bows/arrows I have to make them unenchantable to prevent infinite ammo and make them refuse to use Notch arrows. I get tons of people complaining because my mod's veins drop ore "items" instead of themselves as blocks, yet they get no bonus from fortune. I basically just told them all tough luck.

Enchants are a nifty feature, but Notch went about it the worst way possible and made some of the worst enchant ideas possible.

There doesn't seem to be much sense in "updating" a mod that you know is going to be updated anyhow.
    Alblaka had already specifically stated his intentions - it's not as if it's a dead mod that hasn't been updated in months.
    I wasn't aware that pointing this out made someone a "dick", and it's terribly unfair to classify "most" of the participants in the thread that way (IMO, there's only been one... until now)
    I'm not sure why reason indicates "problems at home". I'd be more likely to conclude that passing judgment in that fashion is indicative of underlying problem... but I'm sure you meant well.
    After all, you're such a nice guy to compliment one person at everyone else's expense. :rolleyes: