Posts by PaladinOne

University or any other kind of formal courses are absolutely not needed to learn programming. I've even noticed that by far bigger majority of co-workers I work with as a programmer either have no degree or have degrees on completely unrelated areas. I myself actually didn't finish college because I knew all they could teach me about programming years earlier, all learnt on my own with a couple of books, bit of internet and loads and loads of actually doing stuff.

Of course going to university probably doesn't hurt either, especially if you don't have enough willpower to invest time in self-teaching.

I am actually a first-year Theatre major, so yeah what you're doing in college doesn't really tell the story of who you are as a person or what you can do otherwise. Ever since I started playing around with modded Minecraft, back in November, I have been slowly pulled in the direction of programming. (Well, okay, not for the first two or three weeks, when I was playing Tekkit :wacko:) But when I moved (very quickly!) away from pre-assembled mod packs in favor of my own homebrew, I quickly realized that I would need to learn at least a little about how Java worked in order to understand what the hell was going wrong with my mod setup. And, in the last month in particular, I have been pulled more and more strongly in the direction of taking actual programming classes come next fall. (Hell, I already eat, sleep, and breathe computers; I know how they think, but I do not know how to truly communicate with them.)
    This may seem a bit jumbled, but I felt I had to say something here, based on who I am and what this community has started to mean to me.
    (I didn't quote Omicron only because I didn't want the wall-of-text to appear in a third nearly-consecutive place...)

What mod took a dump in my world?